@Beautycounter

Y’all it’s FALL! Sorry I’ve been away for so long, school started back in August and I’ve been workin’ and doing my thang, so I’ve finally settled into to some sentiment of a routine to be able to write this review up for you lovelies.

A (way) while back my fav, @jessiejamesdecker posted to her Instagram a photo of some makeup goodies recommended to her, and since I am hypnotized by makeup, reviews, and Youtube, I just had to search it out. My initial recon brought on a mild sense of shock as I saw the prices of said beauty products; it wasn’t too discouraging, the prices, but from a brand I had never heard of, let alone a solely online company where I can’t personally swatch and feel the color palettes and textures of the products, I wasn’t willing to risk it. To be honest, I am a college student on a budget and I, like many, work very hard for my money, so I like to be wise and look for solid, not always sure, but solid investments.

I was going back and forth with whether or not to try something of @Beautycounter, with its promise of safer beauty and of being paraben and preservative free their mission aligned closely with my values and beauty needs.  This lead to a tug-of-war between my financial values and my health values… but as luck would have it Target  (lineup photo below) came through in the clutch and delivered an amazing brand and opportunity at my doorstep. As soon payday hit, I ran to Target (two in total) to buy what would be the last balm on the shelf.

screen-shot-2016-10-07-at-8-03-53-am

Swatching any of the above makeup products wasn’t an option, that being the case there was really only one other product in the above photo that caught my attention, the cleansing balm. It seemed really new, interesting, and safe for me to try. I had never heard of a cleansing balm and the website’s description was promising, more promising than the original $80 price tag, so it was my primary purchase was the illustrious Cleansing Balm ($30). I have been on the hunt for a signature and safe skin care product that would not only keep my skin hydrated, smooth, and soft but most importantly clear. In fact, I have made it  a mission to solidify my perfect skin care routine, which is still in the works of being perfected, but I can say confidently that with this last purchase I am one step closer to finding the perfect system.

Criteria for my “perfect” system:

  • reasonably affordable
  • dependable
  • effective

PACKAGING: Now the cleansing balm is on the pricier side, especially for ~2oz, but a wasn’t a budget buster. The packaging was super simple, modern, and modest, dare I say delicate. The product comes in a round frosted glass jar, with a blue plastic lid. Accompanying the main product is a white plastic scoop that is so tiny and cute, I couldn’t help but smile at it from the first unboxing. The scoop’s purpose is to help approximate an “almond-sized” amount of the balm from the gross contents of the jar for use with each application. This is easily done by the indentation set at the broad end of the plastic, where the product would collect. Finally, the piece de resistance, a muslin cloth is included to use in place of a traditional washcloth for gentler experience on the skin.

REACTION: [facial cleanser] This product minimizes pores, not that I had large ones, to begin with, but my skin appears almost seamless. Please note that it is nutrient rich and very oily, I can’t speak for oily skin tones, but for my tone, it works fantastic. My skin immediately felt embalmed and hydrated; believe me when I say that my skin and hair DRINK oil, like I can literally fill the oil absorb upon contact, but the difference with this product versus ones I’ve tried in the past is that simple contrast of lasting hydration. I applied it one night and the did not even apply a follow-up moisturizer. When I woke up, my skin was baby-bottom soft.  Words cannot describe how pleased I am with this product, so much so, that I am hoping it becomes a lasting Target release, with the expansion of the entire lines availability in store. [makeup remover] I actually spent today test driving some other makeup, so I finally was able to use the “bomb” as a makeup remover (results below). I had filled in my brows, wore blush and lipstick (reviews coming soon), all removed by this one product without help from any others including, but not limited to makeup removing wipes. Beautycounter should really rename their product to the “Cleansing bomb” because this stuff is the truly THE b-o-m-b! The opaque mixture is creamy and smooth, more butter-like than actual butter. It smells like the softer side of shea butter, immediately gliding effortlessly on your skin, and melting across the surface.

PRODUCT:  screen-shot-2016-10-06-at-6-31-58-pmSome ingredients that peaked my interest included: Shea Butter, Sweet Almond Oil, Avocado Oil, and Grapeseed Oil. I have combination dry skin with the occasional eczema patch adorning my forehead, so my skin drinks up oils, but I still need the good kinds that mimic my own natural sebum [dry side] and do not contribute to the blemish-inducing oils that clog pores [oily t-zone] (hence the combination).  My skin and hair have always responded well to the first three oils, and I’ve been interested in grapeseed oil since Emma Stone mentioned she used it as a daily moisturizer a few years back. My skin and hair have always responded well to the first three oils, and I’ve been interested in grapeseed oil since Emma Stone mentioned she used it as a daily moisturizer a few years back. This product is nutrient rich and acts as a facial cleanser, makeup remover, and hydrating facial mask.

Ingredients List: Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Prunus Armeniaca (Apricot) Kernel Oil, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea) Butter, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Wax, Cetearyl Alcohol, Glyceryl Stearate SE, Polyglyceryl-3 Cocoate, Silica Silylate, Mangifera Indica (Mango) Seed Butter, Persea Gratissima (Avocado) Oil, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Oil*, Rubus Idaeus (Raspberry) Seed Oil, Vaccinium Macrocarpon (Cranberry) Seed Oil,Water, Tocopherol, Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate, Mimosa Tenuiflora Bark Extract, Artemisia Pallens Flower Oil*, Anthemis Nobilis Flower Oil*, Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis (Sweet Almond) Oil, Rosa Damascena Flower Oil, Magnolia Champaca (Magnolia) Flower Oil, Phenoxyethanol.

REVIEW: This “bomb” hydrates everything! My lips had lasting hydration , which was VERY unexpected. In fact, iscreen-shot-2016-10-06-at-6-32-37-pmt wasn’t even a considerable factor in evaluating this product until I actually noticed the change. I mean even look at that glow! This product is 100% real and amazing, dare I say miracle product. I was getting stress acne in random areas of my face, and they were HUGE red bumps; cleansing my face with the cleansing cream and balm helped shrink them up tremendously. To the left you what was the largest bump (next to my mole) shrunk over the course of two days, in fact, the other two disappeared completely. In total, I had three bumps total, one beside my nose and mole, and the other right between my eyebrows. None of which were visible for this photo.I was so pleased with the product that I had to go out and buy more of the line, so I will review it in a later post. I hope y’all enjoyed this review and let me know of any other products that peak your interest.

Thanks and Txoxo,

Jas

Leave a Reply

