PR: NYX Wonder Stick (DEEP)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

An “all-purpose Wonder Stick that has a creamy finish that conceals, highlights and contours with ease.” The NYX Wonder Stick ($11.99) is available in four shades:Screen Shot 2015-05-16 at 8.06.38 PM

  • Light (WS01): Light Neutral / Taupe
  • Medium (WS02): Light with Pink Undertones / Yellow Brown with Slight Red Undertones
  • Deep (WS03): Medium Beige with Slight Yellow Undertones / Brown with Yellow and Slight Red Undertones
  • Universal (WS04): Light Neutral with Shimmer / Yellow Brown with Slight Red Undertone

This product is extremely creamy, blend-able, and build-able, I would recommend this to a [new to make-up] friend and I would even repurchase it in the future. In the photos above I am not wearing any foundation, only the “Wonder Stick” because my mom doesn’t think that my skin needs foundation, so I typically only use a bronzer and highlight for most special occasions.  My previous foundation references are BareMinerals BAREskin in Bare Almond 16 and It Cosmetics Your Skin but Better CC Cream w/ SPF 50+ in Rich (these are the only two foundations I have ever used). 

Screen Shot 2015-05-16 at 8.08.09 PM

Most foundation brands aren’t compatible with richer skin tones. Most foundation’s darker shades that fit my skin aren’t actually that dark, so I would not recommend any of these shades for skin tones that range between Jennifer Hudson and Lupita Nyong’o. Deep would even be too fair, and could appear ash-y or even disappear completely on the skin.

I would give this product 3.5 stars out of 5, because it does conceal, highlight, and contour very well, so accurate advertising is a check. I deducted a star and a half because of the lack of shade variety, because the Universal is actually not universal at all (the highlight looked so ash-y on my face). I recommend swatching the shades at your local ULTA and using a coupon for the discounts. ULTA also gives you a 60 day money back guarantee if you do not like the product.

TXoxo,

Jasmine

Leave a Reply

